FAQs, “For The Record”s, and Final Thoughts of Maximized Living

This might very well be a dead horse.  And I’m going to beat it one more time, in what I hope is the LAST time.  In fact, I wasn’t going to write another post on the chiropractic Maximized Living franchise, but I do feel I might need to clarify and reiterate a few items, in response to some of the themes of feedback I’ve gotten on my previous posts on this subject.

First, I want to thank everyone for their comments, whether they agreed with my viewpoint or not.  My intent in writing these articles is not to stir any pot, but rather to disseminate information and provoke thought.  Your contributions, from no matter which side of the fence, enrich that discussion and add to the overall thought-provoking that is taking place.  It is for that reason that I have censored hardly any (if any at all) comments, regardless of content (other than spam or over-the-top ridiculousness – which might have amounted to 1 or 2 posts in all, if even that many).  I feel that to minimize censorship of opinions allows for a greater variety and deeper discussion, which benefits everyone.  So again, I thank you, and I encourage the discussion to keep rolling.

Where I will draw the line from here on, however, and consider NOT approving some comments, is when the commenter appears to have a reading comprehension issue.  This usually follows a theme of, “How can you hate nutrition/exercise/chiropractic??  How can you be against an organization that promotes health??”

The answer to the first question is, I’m not against those things at all.  A chimpanzee probably has enough sentience to realize that proper nutrition, exercise, and appropriate chiropractic care is a much-needed (and much-neglected, to our peril) foundation for achieving and maintaining good health.  When I ask the commenter where in my posts I said that nutrition/exercise/chiropractic were unnecessary or a scam, I usually receive silence in return.  Because the truth is simple: those commenters have put words in my mouth; I never said them, so they cannot be quoted.  It is from here on that such questions will be discarded without approval, because they don’t add anything to the discussion–they are meritless – not because I disagree, but because I’m having to defend myself against something I never said or did.

Thus, if you are going to disagree with me on a particular point, I’m only going to approve the comment if: 1) I can validate that I said what it is you’re taking issue with, or 2) you provide the quoted text above your comment.  I thank you for your efforts in advance, and I appreciate them.  I have absolutely no problem with people disagreeing with me; all I’m asking now is that they back it up.  I can own what I’m putting into print, and I’m asking the same of everyone else.

The answer to the second question (“how can you be against an organization that promotes health??”) is, Very Easily.  Not because it promotes health – that’s not the issue at all – but rather, the way in which it is done.  As I have stated in some of the discussions below ML-related posts, *no* DC knows for sure that you’re going to need 80 visits when all that doctor has done is the initial exam.  Thus, to design an 80-visit treatment plan right out the gate is ridiculous.  Chiropractic is much like other types of medicine/therapy in which the doctor/practitioner gains a greater insight to the patient’s expected progress (and estimated timeline thereof) during the course of the treatment plan itself.  If the patient is progressing faster or slower than expected, then the doctor can make the appropriate changes/adjustments to that treatment plan.  But 80 visits from the git-go?  No doctor has a crystal ball that good.

I also realize that not all ML-based doctors practice the same way.  Some are more aggressive in terms of salesmanship than others.  Some are more genuine than others and take a more ethical, individualized approach toward each patient’s needs.  Simply because a doctor is part of the Maximized Living franchise does not make him/her a bad doctor.  Heck, different doctors have different reasons for even signing on with the franchise itself.  This is because like our patients, every doctor is also different.

But for the record, seriously – if you found a doctor who connects with you, makes progress with you, addresses your needs, gives you relief, and helps you achieve what you could never do before, who cares if they’re an ML doc or not?  The fact is, they’re a good doc, and if you’re comfortable with them, you should stick with them!

So my beef is not with chiropractic.  It is not with exercise.  It is not with nutrition.  It is not even with long treatment plans (hey–some patients legitimately need longer plans than others – to get better overnight or after one treatment is not usually a realistic expectation, but it doesn’t mean that chiropractic is a failure or a fraud in any way).  My beef is not even against all ML docs!  My beef is with the way some/many of the ML docs practice – the sales techniques/hard-sells and the gimmicks (such as free exams and x-rays – you get what you pay for – and if you truly are getting something for free now, it’s because you are indeed expected to pay later!)  At any rate, I think these gimmicks degrade medicine in general, including (and especially) chiropractic.

Some people think I might’ve been brainwashed.  It’s been claimed I must’ve gone to a “mixer” school in order to think this way.  At that point, I must ask – what does my alma mater have to do with anything?  I’m not so brainwashed that I’ll simply believe anything any school, mentor, guru, or seminar feeds me.  And neither should you.

Sure, I’m absolutely a mixer.  I think that these days, it’s the only rational approach, because today’s problems are hugely multi-factorial and thus we need multiple therapeutic routes, not all of which involve chiropractic, per se.  But I don’t think that where one went to school should really matter in that regard – by the time we enter school, we’re well into adulthood, and by then we can make philosophical decisions for ourselves.  What if I told you I went to a “mixer” school?  What if I revealed that I went to a “straight” school?  Would what I have to say be any different?  Would my opinions and experiences be any more or less valid?

Some comments took issue with the fact that I came this-close to calling Maximized Living a cult/scam.  Actually, if you look closely, I didn’t.  I purposefully put a question mark at the end of that post title – a question mark means that the answer is ambiguous and could go either way; it is not the same as a statement.  If I put an exclamation point at the end of that post title, these commentators would certainly have a point, because at that point, I’m making a solid claim that can be confirmed or refuted.  It looks a bit silly to disagree with a question, especially when I didn’t exactly answer the question.  Semantics, I know, but important.

When confronted with shortcomings of the chiropractic profession, many well-meaning people go on the defensive and say, “but–but look at those dirty white-coated medical doctors over there, pushing toxic drugs and invasively cutting into people!”  Yes, I know.  It’s tragic.  And I’m with you, I really am.  But it’s not an excuse for those DCs who are practicing unethically.  Think of it in this (crude) way – if I have piles of dog poop in my back yard, I’m responsible for that.  If my city’s Code Enforcement Officer stopped by to cite me for it, I’d be liable.  It is not a legitimate defense that my neighbor has twice as much dog poop in his backyard as I do.  That doesn’t get me off the hook; I still have to clean up mine.  Well, same thing goes for chiropractic.  We have to stop pointing fingers at our conventional medicine neighbors and just clean up our own dog poop already.

Lastly, I want to reiterate that my posts about Maximized Living were based on three items:

  • Our own, firsthand experience
  • The firsthand experience of a respected colleague whom we personally know
  • Allegedly internal documents leaked to me by a commenter (whose comment I did not publish in order to protect his/her identity) – and I admit that since they came to me in comment text, I cannot verify for sure whether or not they’re authentic.

This is not a case of “my cousin’s friend’s sister’s boyfriend knows this kid who has this neighbor who saw Ferris Bueller pass out at 31 Flavors last night”; this is first-hand stuff, especially the first two items.  I’m not feeding into any anti-ML frenzy; I’m simply writing about my experiences so that others who are curious or skeptical can find some information during their research.  I have no vested interest in entering into a pissing context with Maximized Living.  I have no stake in any competing interest.

You may disagree with me.  Your experiences may have been different than mine and if they were, I’m happy for you.  However, please do not insinuate that my experiences were somehow less valid than your experiences/opinions.  That’s why I posted them on my blog.  If you have a life-changing story to shout out and you feel passionate about it, start a pro-ML blog and write a post that counteracts mine.  It’s a free world – in which lies its beauty.

OK, I think that dead horse probably went through about three more lifetimes.  It’s done 🙂

4 thoughts on “FAQs, “For The Record”s, and Final Thoughts of Maximized Living”

  1. In 2010 my daughter was T-boned by a drunk driver. After intensive care, the medical family sent her to ‘spinal injections’ with the caveat that they were not intended to heal her but relieve the pain. A scarey thought for me. I prayed every time they stuck that needle in her spine that she would walk again when she was through the treatment. After 2 years of this, she was referred by a friend to a Maximized Living Center. After 3 months of their wonderful care and consultation, she is able to stand, sit and is back to work full time this coming January.
    I was a disbeliever. I had fallen, head first into a cement stairway. Broke my neck in 12 places and after 35 years, was diagnosed with MS. Something I refused to give in to. My beliefs are that we all have the power and the way inside of us to heal. God is always well. After 8 years of treating the symptoms and disease, I decided to try my daughters Maximized Living clinic.
    4 months later, I can move my hands, my leg, sleep laying down and my dizziness is all but gone.
    ***Our vertibrae covers the spinal cord for a reason. All the nerves that keep our body functioning ‘stems’ from our spinal system. If even one of the vertibrae is limiting the flow of the nerve(s) it protects, it can alter our well being. **
    Yes, I recommend any type of Alternative medicine. Acupunture, Yoga, Herbs. All have been around for centuries, as you well know. Chiropratic care has been around for hundreds of years and is an essential ” tool ” to our bodies function. Finding a ‘Great’ chiroprator is no different than finding a good doctor, dentist, mechanic… etc. You all know this is true. Finding a Wellness Center with a passion for our countries health is…well, it’s about time.
    Let your Well Being decide. Listen to your own self. Find that doctor that has a passion for YOUR Health. If a bunch of bottles of purple pills is your answer, good on ya. If you want to live healthy and happy without side affects…go for the alternative.
    The reason they ask you refer a friend…is only if you know someone who could benefit from their services. They don’t give any special perks for this. They just want to heal a few more people. If you think they are expensive; weigh the expense of a few more pills and lack of vitality to the chance of living a healthier life. As far as seeing a bunch of people all at the same time. What’s the
    difference between this and any other doctor? I wait for 1/2 hr. See the physician for 5 minutes. He gives me a prescription and off I go until “” I don’t feel good again “”.
    Our world is on the brink of change. A way of thinking that has been around for centuries is finally coming becoming the norm. I am all for it. Let the awakening begin.
    I have a friend who just came out of a coma after an interaction with 2 medications that sent her into a siezure. I have a friend who almost died because of the interaction of 2 medictions and later had severe siezures due to that experience. Yes, I am a believer is holistic health. It should be covered by our insurance and in some states, it is. It should be our decision.
    Good Health to you all. Be Well.

  2. I came across your blog when I put the terms Maximized Living into the search bar. I am currently a patient at a ML clinic in Florida. I’m glad I read your posts (all of them) regarding ML and I’m also glad that the docs at this clinic seem more ethical. Some of what they do are what you’ve described (3 visits to get to my personal results) but after having 12 visits of adjustments, my daily migraines are almost gone. (down to 1 a week). as well as greater rotation in my neck and trunk. I’m an occupational therapy assistant, so familiar with most of what the doctors tell me. I’m also a skeptic of chiropractic in general. (some family go religiously for adjustments yet are always sick – contrary to what’s touted)
    Anyway, I’m glad to know what to watch for and just follow what my body needs, rather than a sales pitch.
    Thanks for being real. (and being a “mixer” just seems to make sense. No one has every answer for every single person.
    Be blessed.

  3. I was a patient of the Sioux Falls SD Inspired Chiropractic and at first I was a believer but then I noticed that every patient had the same treatment that I did. My sister started going and she was diagnosed with the same neck and spinal curvature. The diet, supplements and therapy was the same for everyone, even the adjustments were the same. 2 – 3 minutes max per person and the waiting room was full. I was on a payment plan because of course they do not take insurance and they charge $5 to use their vibe machine that was a part of the treatment. Monthly payments almost $200 a month for 18 months and then you could do $25 a session. Yes Maxamized Living is a scam. And they are stealing millions of dollars for false treatments.

  4. Hi. I’m not aware of how old these posts may be but I signed up for wordpress for the sole purpose of leaving this comment, so I guess it doesn’t matter on my end. First off, let me thank you for putting into words exactly what I had been wondering about this organization. I just got home from one of these group presentations after going over X-rays with a chiropractor at one of these clinics. Everything about the place started to smell of snake oil and I’m glad I chose not to make any sort of investment into a 56 adjustment plan at $65 dollars a visit plus 4 more x-rays, 10 more exams, and a bunch of other accessories all with a hefty price tag. Granted, the initial adjustment made me feel great after relieving pressure from a 19 year misalignment in my neck… however, after realizing that the doctor was recommending the same course of care for everyone in the group presentation and the price tag was outrageous, my red flag meter went off the charts. Needless to say, I won’t be signing up any time soon, unless I win the lottery tomorrow. Then I’ll think about just throwing my money away on things like this… or not. Anyway, thank you for this post. It was very informative and right on the spot regarding everything that made me question what I had just taken part in. I appreciate your diligence in informing us and your understanding of the English language.

    – Brian from Irving, TX

Leave a Reply

