Unknown waters

[Comes to, stands up, looks around…]

OK.  I think I like it here.  Time will tell.  And I’m at least superficially anonymous (you’ll have to dig a little to find out who I really am), so I think I can talk freely.  After all, I’m a safe distance (in terms of both time and geography) away from my alma mater and my degree and licensing eligibility no longer hang in the imbalance.

I’m a DC.  That stands for Doctor of Chiropractic, which DOES mean that yes, I’m a real doctor.  More often, though our headspace often gets caught somewhere between kneejerk business owner and used car salesman.

I put a stake in this little piece of Unorganized Territory for the sole purposes of 1) helping others avoid my mistakes and understand that they’re not alone and 2) satiating the incessant creative muses that linger on my shoulder.  I have high hopes.  Hopefully, I can deliver.

A little about me:

I decided I wanted to be a DC in the fall of 2003, after about 8 intended college majors.  Talk about soul-searching.  In the beginning, the idea of attending chiropractic school had competition: naturopathic school.  In fact, they were neck-and-neck for a while.  In the end, chiropractic school won out.

It’s not that I wanted to move bones, it’s that I wanted to detoxify our toxic world and bodies and what better way to do that than to show people that there is a whole other way of dealing with health issues that does not involve drugs or surgery.  I had recently experienced the sheer power and efficacy of the world of natural medicine and now my mission was to share it with the world!  Look out, here I come.

DC school won out simply because Texas recognizes chiropractic doctors and gives them licenses, while naturopaths get to pound sand.  (In reality, DCs get to pound their fair share of sand, too, but that’s another story.)

After several long, strenuous, hellacious years of blood, sweat, tears, and a little embalming fluid, I emerged, a butterfly with slightly tattered wings, wondering if I’d be able to fly after all.  Nothing but myself, my husband, and the horizon.  The sky was the limit.  (Well, OK – our savings account was the limit.)

The world was ours.

We started practice.  Idealistic, optimistic, and patient-centered, we meshed quite well with the earthiness of our new city and the genuine hearts of its people.  We did what we said we would never do: started our own practice, fresh out, from scratch, from the ground up.  There was stress, there was elation, there were sleepless nights, lost appetites, irregular bowels, fits of frustration, sharp learning curves, epiphany light-bulb moments, fine print, legal clauses, twists and curveballs, hashing and rehashing, late night hours, and the cats barely saw us.  It was financial freefall; money burned a hole like acid scorching metal.  It was jumping out of a plane before you accounted for the ripcord on your parachute.  And hoping to God it’s there and working.

“Every Day Is a Winding Road”

We’ve been in practice a year.  I keep learning.  My spouse (also a DC) keeps learning.  We keep making mistakes.  We keep changing things up, always trying to improve, always trying to expand, always trying to serve and always trying to survive.  We keep our nose to the grindstone.  We keep our head held high.  We keep plugging away.  We don’t know all the answers.  Not even close.  It’s amazing how much we still have left to learn, but it’s just as amazing (and easy to forget) how far we’ve come.  It’s natural to underestimate the progress made and take it for granted.  But there’s still such a looooong way to go.

So who is this blog for?

  • For our fellow colleagues, whether you’ve been in practice longer than we have or not.
  • For those who are just starting out, terrified, feeling and thinking some unique thoughts and wondering if you’re alone (you’re not!).
  • For those still in school, wondering what it’s like to be on the other side of the Berlin wall, outside the Matrix, fully awake and free of the chiro-bubble.
  • For those considering the field, wondering what it’s like on the inside and wondering if it’s worth the effort, energy, and indeed, your health and quite possibly your sanity.
  • And, for other healthcare practitioners and/or the public who have no idea what this strange and oddball field is really like and are almost scared to ask some of the field practitioners you might know of (don’t worry, I would be, too).

My goal and hope is to demystify chiropractic and those of us who practice it, support/comfort/inform those who are struggling/learning/etc, and to bring dignity, rational explanation, and contemporary thought/viewpoints to chiropractic.  I’d also like to show everyone where we fit in the healthcare paradigm (we have a crucial place!), dispel the myths, address the rumors, and quell the fears.

Honestly, I love this field.  I remain realistic about what chiropractic is, what it does, how it works, who can benefit, how (and how NOT) to practice, how (and how NOT) to communicate chiropractic, chiropractic’s potential, chiropractic’s place and role, and, its limitations.  My only agenda is to help the public, other practitioners, and other Doctors of Chiropractic alike to all get on the same page (or, at least the same book!), help DCs make the most of their practice, help DC students find themselves, help the public make the most of their chiropractic care and interaction with DCs, to help expand and grow the chiropractic field and scope, and to keep us from doing anything stupid 🙂

So with that, please enjoy, and always, always, feel free to leave comments below.

Leave a Reply

